• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • You already know Dokkio is an AI-powered assistant to organize & manage your digital files & messages. Very soon, Dokkio will support Outlook as well as One Drive. Check it out today!


Leaders of the Brotherhood

Page history last edited by Social Policy Library 5 months, 1 week ago

Timeline - home / Organisation


Executive Directors & Board Chairs



Executive Directors:


Gerard Kennedy Tucker 1933–54

  • founded the Brotherhood as a religious order
  • pioneered social welfare activities to address poverty. 


Geoffrey Tremayne Sambell 1954–69

  • established the donated goods division
  • Anglican priest; later Archbishop of Perth  

See also : Sambell Oration 


David Scott 1969–1980


Peter Hollingworth 1980–90

  • Anglican priest; later became Archbishop of Brisbane, then Governor-General of Australia
  • led the campaign Promise the children against child poverty.   


Bill Ford (acting Executive Director 1990)

  • Previously Director of Income and Business Development, oversaw Diamond Jubilee Year  


Michael Challen 1991–99

  • Anglican bishop, strong advocate of social justice for all Australians
  • supported close links between Brotherhood research and services. 


Nicolas Frances 1999–2003

  • Anglican priest, born in the United Kingdom, had set up income-generating activities with disadvantaged people
  • fostered the concept of social enterprise. 


John Wilson (acting Executive Director) 2003–04

  • Board member, oversaw transition period 


Tony Nicholson 2004–2018

  • brought strong background in services and policy development with people at risk of homelessness


Conny Lenneberg 2018–2021

  • Strengthened focus on creating lasting change
  • Built organisational service delivery capabilities.   


Lucia Boxelaar (Acting) 2021-2022

  • Joined BSL in November 2018, after being with World Vision Australia for 11 years leading teams that managed, researched and developed large-scale programs.
  • Led two global strategic initiatives for World Vision International to promote evidence capture, utilisation and communication.
  • Holds a Bachelor of Arts with Honours in Anthropology from Monash University, and a PhD in Community Based Natural Resource Management from the University of Melbourne.



Travers Mcleod 2022-

  • Holds a DPhil and MPhil (Dist) in International Relations from Oxford, where he studied as a Rhodes scholar
  • Author of Rule of Law in War, (Oxford University Press, 2015)
  • Associate Fellow of the Oxford Martin School and holds adjunct positions at the University of Melbourne and the University of Western Australia
  • Board member of the Victorian Foundation for Survivors of Torture
  • Occasional moderator for the Cranlana Centre for Ethical Leadership


Chairs of the Board:


Venerable Andrew Curnow 1991-1993


Bishop Oliver Heyward  1993-1997


Sandy Clarke 1997-2000


Professor Stephen Duckett 2001-2005


Bishop Philip Huggins 2005-2014


Hon. Rob Knowles, AO 2014-2015


Most Rev Dr Philip Freier 2016-2020


Stephen Newton 2021-


Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.